We are looking for Volunteer Firefighters



Chatham Emergency Services has five divisions, each an independently state chartered volunteer fire department. If you are interested in becoming a volunteer, you must live in one of the division areas listed below. Exceptions may be made for certain circumstances at the discretion of the chief.

Volunteer Application


Southside Division

Volunteer Division Chief: Jonathan McCrary


Includes Vernonburg, county side of East Montgomery crossroads, east of the Casey Canal including Halcyon Bluff, Crest Hill, Mayfair II, Heatherwood Subdivisions, and areas east of Skidaway Road, including Norwood Ave, Nottingham Woods, Majestic Oaks, Laroche Ave up to the city limits.

Southside Volunteer Drills & Meetings

Station # 1 – 10703 White Bluff Rd
Tuesday nights at 7:00 pm

*please note time and dates may vary.

Islands Division

Volunteer Division Chief: Jeffrey R Mills


Includes Wilmington Island, Whitmarsh Island, Talahi Island, Oatland Island, and the subdivisions of President Street immediately west of Island’s Expressway Bridge up to our Station 14 on President Street.

Island’s Volunteer Drills & Meetings

Station # 4 – 155 Wilmington Island Rd
Monday nights at 7:00 pm

*please note time and dates may vary.

Skidaway Island Division

Volunteer Fire Chief: Carey Ruppert


Includes all of Skidaway Island.

Skidaway Island Volunteer Drills & Meetings

Station # 5 – 553 McWhorter Dr
Monday nights at 7:00 pm

*please note time and dates may vary.

Montgomery Division

Volunteer Fire Chief: Christopher Mills


Includes Ferguson Ave, Burnside Island, Diamond Causeway up to Skidaway Narrows River, and the southern part of Whitfield Avenue up to Truman Parkway.

Montgomery Volunteer Drills & Meetings

Station # 6 – 214 Shipyard Rd
Tuesday nights at 7:00 pm

*please note time and dates may vary.

Seventh District Division

Volunteer Fire Chief: Thomas Barlett


All unincorporated areas of Chatham County, west of Forest River to the Bryan county line, Ogeechee Road (Hwy 17s) up to Savannah city limits, includes Southbridge, Berwick, Quacco Road up to Pooler city limits and Little Neck Road.

Seventh District Volunteer Drills & Meetings

Station # 3 – 2009 Grove Point Road
Tuesday nights at 7:00 pm

*please note time and dates may vary.